Eligibility Criteria

EHLS is only open to native speakers of languages selected by the program’s federal sponsor, the National Security Education Program (NSEP).

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for admission to the 2023 EHLS Program, you must meet all of the following criteria:

  • Be a United States citizen
  • Be a native speaker of one of the following languages: Amharic, Arabic, Azerbaijani, Balochi, Bambara, Dari, Hausa, Hindi, Kazakh, Korean, Kurdish, Kyrgyz, Mandarin Chinese, Pashto, Persian Farsi, Punjabi, Russian, Somali, Tajik, Tamashek, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Uzbek, or Vietnamese.
  • Have native language skills at level 3 or higher on the Interagency Language Roundtable (ILR) scale
  • Have English language skills at level 2 or higher on the ILR scale
  • Be able to use Microsoft Office software (Word, PowerPoint) and use the Internet to conduct research
  • Have completed university-level or equivalent professional education at the bachelor’s level
  • Be able to commit to full-time daytime study for 6 months at Georgetown University in Washington, DC, followed by 2 months of part-time online study
  • Be completely separated from any position with the U.S. government and any service in the U.S. military as of the date when instruction begins
  • Agree to fulfill a one-year service commitment with the U.S. government

Please note that a person can only receive the EHLS scholarship one time.

The National Security Education Program (NSEP) awards described on this website are subject to the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, which provide that no citizen of the United States may, on the grounds of race, sex, color, religion, age, national origin, or disability, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving federal financial assistance.

Selection Criteria

Applicants to the EHLS Program will be evaluated according to five selection criteria, aside from language and computer skills: language goals and motivation, cultural knowledge, research skills, professional adaptability, and compatibility with the federal workplace. Detailed information about each criterion is available in the selection criteria definitions. It is strongly suggested that you review these rubrics as you prepare your EHLS application.

Assessing Your Language and Technology Skills

The EHLS Program uses the Interagency Language Roundtable (ILR) scale to assess your language skills. To be eligible for the EHLS Program, you must have critical language skills at level 3 or higher and have English language skills at level 2 or higher. You can assess your language skills via the following self-assessments created by ILR: speaking, reading, and listening.

Use the technology skills self-assessment to determine whether you have the technology skills that the program requires.

Leave a Comment